Homepage List My Scheduled HKPO Concerts in the Coming 2011-12 Season

42. My Scheduled HKPO Concerts in the Coming 2011-12 Season

As one more scheduled Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HKPO) concert left to be heard in the current season, I have submitted my booking form for the new 2011-12 HKPO concert season. The last scheduled concert left to be heard in the current season will be an all-Tchaikovsky programme concert including his best-known "Pathetique" Symphony. I have had, on the whole, marvellous concerts in the current season, getting a lot of fun in listening to masterpieces of symphonies such as Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony, Mahler's Sixth and Seventh Symphonies and Berlioz's "Symphonie fantastique", and concertos such as Schumann's Piano Concerto and Brahms's Double Concerto, interpreted outstandingly by HKPO under the direction of Edo de Waart, the Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Orchestra.

A total of nine concerts have been chosen as my scheduled concert going activities in the new 2011-12 HKPO concert season, programmes of which being listed in chronological order below, all to be carried out at Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall:

1. September 10, 2011:
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.3 (拉赫曼尼諾夫:第三鋼琴協奏曲)
Rachmaninov: Symphony No.2 (拉赫曼尼諾夫:第二交響曲)

2. October 8, 2011:
Sierra: "Fandangos" (斯耶拿:《方丹戈舞》)
Paganini: Violin Concerto No.1 (巴格尼尼:第一小提琴協奏曲)
Beethoven: Symphony No.7 (貝多芬:第七交響曲)

3. October 22, 2011:
Beethoven: Symphony No.6 "Pastoral" (貝多芬:第六交響曲「田園」)
Elgar: Cello Concerto (艾爾加:大提琴協奏曲)
Wagner "Tannhauser": Overture (華格納:《湯豪舍》:序曲)

4. November 19, 2011:
Wagenaar: "Cyrano de Bergerac" (華舒納:《西哈諾•迪巴舒赫》)
Glass: Double Concerto for Violin and Cello (Asian Premiere) (格拉斯:小提琴及大提琴雙協奏曲 (亞洲首演))
Brahms: Symphony No.4 (布拉姆斯:第四交響曲)

5. December 3, 2011:
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.23 in A, K488 (莫扎特:A大調第23鋼琴協奏曲,K488)
Mahler: Symphony No.5 (馬勒:第五交響曲)

6. March 17, 2012:
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.2 (original version) (柴可夫斯基:第二鋼琴協奏曲(原版))
Tchaikovsky: "Manfred" Symphony (柴可夫斯基:《曼費德》交響曲)

7. April 21, 2012:
Berlioz: "La Mort de Cleopatre" (白遼士:《埃及艷后之死》)
Beethoven: Symphony No.9 (貝多芬:第九交響曲)

8. May 19, 2012:
Britten: "Peter Grimes" - Four Sea Interludes (布烈頓:《彼得•格林姆斯》──四首海之間奏曲)
Debussy: "La Mer" (德布西:《海》)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No.1 (布拉姆斯:第一鋼琴協奏曲)

9. July 7, 2012:
Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn (布拉姆斯:海頓主題變奏曲)
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G (拉威爾:G大調鋼琴協奏曲)
Ravel: Piano Concerto for the Left Hand (拉威爾:為左手而作的鋼琴協奏曲)
Elgar: Variations on an Original Theme "Enigma" (艾爾加:「謎語」變奏曲)

(Written on May 26, 2011)